Bed Breakfast Traveler
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.6
 Rooms  4.4
 Cleanliness  4.5
 Location  4.5
 Security & Safety  4.6
 Service & Staff  4.8
 Food / Dining  4.3
 Total  4.5

"Excellent option as a cheap place to stay"

User Rating:  4.4
Reviewer:   Kabir B. of Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed:   February 18, 2017  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2017     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The Atlas house is conveniently located near the New Orleans convention center and the staff are fantastic! Guests were also very nice and cooperative. A set of lockers for guests would be really helpful.

"Chido e cotorreo"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Eliana O. of Saltillo Coahuila, Mexico
Reviewed:   February 10, 2017  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2017     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
En la oportunidad que tuve de alojarme en este lugar me pareció muy acogedor, las personas que trabajan en el muy atentas y dispuestas a ayudar y a dar el mejor consejo, muy céntrico el hostalito y cómodo.viaje en compañía de una amiga, la pasamos excelente.

"great stay1"

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   Alex C. of chicago, United States
Reviewed:   February 9, 2017  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2017     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Great hostel, friendly service, good price!

"Friendly and affordable hostel"

User Rating:  4.1
Reviewer:   Edwin M. of London, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   February 3, 2017  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2017     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The Atlas House is a great place to stay if visiting New Orleans on a budget. The staff were friendly (big shout out to Tom) and other guests were too. Pankake breakfast in the morning was a good bonus too.

"Great experience!"

User Rating:  4.6
Reviewer:   Sara W. of Toledo, United States
Reviewed:   January 19, 2017  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2016     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The staff were extremely helpful. I couldn't have asked for a better hostel experience!

"Great hostel in quieter location from downtown"

User Rating:  4.6
Reviewer:   Michael F. of Seattle, United States
Reviewed:   January 18, 2017  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2017     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Came to Atlas house from MSY by rental car, was easy to find as it's right off a main road heading south from I-10 (Magazine St.).
All the staff are very friendly and were accommodating of my late arrival -- just let them know if you'll be in after hours (after 10pm the front desk staff leaves).

Towels are $2 to borrow, and the bathroom was clean. There's a bit of a queue for the upstairs shower in the morning; the host was friendly enough to let me use the showers in the adjoining unit when I was in a hurry to take off!

Three words: free street parking.
The location is about a mile away from downtown, which is great if you have a car. There's a bus line and bike lanes to get you into town if you don't feel like walking.

Would definitely stay here for my next trip to NOLA -- great value and good service.

"Fun place"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Anusha S. of NY, United States
Reviewed:   January 11, 2017  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2017     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The dorm beds were creaky, but other than that I loved this place! It's in a really convenient location, the guests are nice, and the staff were really nice, helpful, and friendly. Well worth it, and at a great price!

"awesome!"

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   Haley K. of San Antonio, United States
Reviewed:   January 6, 2017  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2016     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The Atlas House was lovely! We only stayed for 2 nights but all the workers we met were extremely kind and helpful. The chalkboard in the kitchen had good recommendations of where to eat and what to do. The building is a little old but comfortable. The hostel is close to some great, hip restaurants. It's a few minutes walk away from a streetcar and about a 20 minute walk away from canal street. Parking on the street in front of the hostel was convenient and easy and we felt safe the whole time. Also, free tea and pancakes in the morning :D

"Funky and Cool"

User Rating:  3.5
Reviewer:   Mike H. of Medford, OR, United States
Reviewed:   December 13, 2016  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2016     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Reservations were easy to make online, and we had no problems on arrival. Easy to find with navigation, and very recognizable from street.

This is an old house with lots of character, and various other guests walking about minding their own business (which was perfectly fine with us). We booked the private room with two beds, and it was clean and neat when we arrived. There seems to be adequate security (a lock for the room, as well as the building itself, and then another lock for the main house). I thought it might be a little noisy with the dorm downstairs, but it turned out to be pretty quiet (we stayed in December, not during Mardi Gras, so take that as you will).

We were a twenty-minute walk to the edge of the French Quarter, with only one sketchy part (under the overpass, where homeless folks sleep). We didn't walk through late at night, but had no problems. We parked our car in front of the house, and had no problems. There are not a lot of tourist-type restaurants out this far, but it didn't take long to get close enough to find some spots.

As an alternative to spendy hotels closer to the Quarter, we liked The Atlas House. The hosts were friendly and helpful, and our only "complaint" was that the booking firm took a 10% deposit at booking, supposedly to be applied to our total bill, but this did not happen. We just got charged 10% more, as our host who processed the payment did not recognize why this was charged and offered no way to resolve it. (To be fair, he was from France, and had only been in NO for three weeks, so I am not holding him responsible for this.)

I can recommend the Atlas House for people who are a little flexible and a little tolerant of others.

"Amazing stay!"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Manon E. of Brest, France
Reviewed:   December 6, 2016  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2016     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I immensely enjoyed my stay at The Atlas House—the staff was very friendly and helpful, we had a Thanksgiving meal all together with the other residents and that was a delightful attention. It has more of a young, adventurous vibe, which was perfect for me, and I got to meet and make friends with some great people! Highly recommend, thanks for everything! (PS: thank you for the morning pancakes!)


1 - 10 of 127 reviews  Next 10 results




BedBreakfastTraveler Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Bed & Breakfast Reviews  |   Write a Bed & Breakfast Review  |   Suggest Bed & Breakfasts  |   Search Bed & Breakfasts  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Bed & Breakfast  |   Link to Us