Bed Breakfast Traveler
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.5
 Rooms  4.2
 Cleanliness  4.4
 Location  4.8
 Security & Safety  4.7
 Service & Staff  4.8
 Food / Dining  4.7
 Total  4.5

"Delightful!"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Andrea K. of Bremerton, WA, United States
Reviewed:   July 18, 2018  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2018     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
My husband and our adult son and I visited Costa Roca for the the first time in March! What a beautiful country! We had the pleasure of staying here on our second night and loved it! The views from the lodge are ever changing! Matthew and Leah were so kind and helpful - thanks for the great info regarding the rest of our trip! And the food was amazing!! Thank you for sharing your mountain top home with us! Your hospitality was top-notch and we hope to be back someday!

"Great Place to stay near Poas Volcano"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Richard D. of Knoxville, TN, United States
Reviewed:   July 16, 2018  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2018     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Matthew and Leah were wonderful hosts. If you are looking for personal care and friendly smiles, I can't imagine a place better than this. Not to mention the fabulous views and the great food. I particularly recommend the vegetable stew: Fabulous! Breakfast was also great, with a choice of U.S. breakfast or traditional Costa Rican breakfast (which, as we follow a gluten-free diet, we opted for). An easy drive to the Poas Waterfall Park, which was wonderful. We also recommend a stop at the Starbucks research and coffee production facility, literally on the way to or from the airport in Alajuela. We look forward to staying at the Poas Lodge on a future trip to Costa Rica!

"Excellent!!"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Carlos B. of Heredia, Costa Rica
Reviewed:   June 15, 2018  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   June 2018     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Loved the view, the location and the rooms. The service was amazing and Matt and Leah are stupendously nice people!

Super recommended for a romantic get away!

"superb view"

User Rating:  4.1
Reviewer:   Irene W. of hatfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   April 23, 2018  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2018     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Comfortable stay in this homely lodge. It was a damp cool evening when we arrived but we soon warmed up next to the open fire. The lodge is under relatively new ownership and needs a bit of work but the couple running it are working very hard to make their guests comfortable and welcome.
The views from the lodge are unbeatable and we enjoyed watching a lightning storm in the distance behind San Jose whilst eating a delicious supper.

"Great experience, Great Hosts"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Tracey D. of Ontario, Canada
Reviewed:   April 20, 2018  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2018     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
My husband and I, along with my sister and brother-in-law, had the pleasure of staying at Poas Lodge this April. Upon arrival, the owners, Matt and Leah Lentz, warmly greeted us and made us feel so welcome. Walking into Poas Lodge was like walking into someone's warm and inviting home!! The rooms are cozy and complete with everything you need and the views are stunning!! During our stay, we visited Catarata Del Toro and La Paz Watefall Gardens, both of which were easily accessible from the Lodge location. Matt was extremely helpful, providing weather updates, driving directions, making calls to tours for us, you name it!! Evenings found us sipping wine in the lounge in front of a beautiful fire (it's cold up in the mountain at night!), chatting with Matt, Leah and the other guests and enjoying the unbelievable view of the valley lit up at night!! Breathtaking!!! And Leah's cooking!!! Every meal, be it breakfast or dinner was Texas sized and SO delicious!!! The menu varied each evening and we tried every dish Leah had to offer (we shared!) and were never disappointed, or left hungry!!! We were sad to leave on our last morning and consider ourselves lucky to have found such a hidden gem just a few minutes from Poas National Park, and to have made new friends with such great people as Matt and Leah! Poas Lodge is a must stay if you are in the area and we will definitely book our stay when we come back!! Thank you for everything Matt and Leah, can't wait to see you next year!!!

"wonderful"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Richard B. of ste catherine quebec, Canada
Reviewed:   April 3, 2018  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2018     Type:   Large Group
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Than you its the best place whit the best view if you go at poas volcano.Very clean hothel and the owners and her wife are absolutely a very very nice peaple,you won't forget your stay at this small but very cosy hothel

"Super"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Chartier A. of St Sébastien sur Loire, France
Reviewed:   March 5, 2018  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2018     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Tout fût parfait autant l’accueil ,la grande chambre confortable avec un lit kingsize, la vue magnifique sur la vallée. Le dîner et le petit déjeuner son copieux et gourmand pour un tarif très raisonnable!
C’est un endroit à ne pas louper dommage pour nous car le volcan Poas était non accessible au public.

"Amazing view"

User Rating:  4.0
Reviewer:   Nina G. of Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewed:   February 23, 2018  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2018     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Friendly host, amazing view, free parking, Lounge with fireplace

"Poas lodge"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Gina B. of Nj, United States
Reviewed:   February 12, 2018  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2018     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Everything about this place was a dream, from the beautiful setting, to the couple who owns it, and the food they make. Highly recommend staying here and enjoying everything it has to offer!

"Charmante auberge"

User Rating:  4.7
Reviewer:   Michele P. of Montréal, Canada
Reviewed:   February 11, 2018  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2018     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Située dans les hauteurs avec vue imprenable sur San
Jose le soir . Couple de propriétaires très gentils, accueillants. La dame cuisine très bien. Portions généreuses.

Il ventait beaucoup et c’et Un peu froid dans la salle à manger.


1 - 10 of 95 reviews  Next 10 results




BedBreakfastTraveler Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Bed & Breakfast Reviews  |   Write a Bed & Breakfast Review  |   Suggest Bed & Breakfasts  |   Search Bed & Breakfasts  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Bed & Breakfast  |   Link to Us