Bed Breakfast Traveler
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.5
 Rooms  4.4
 Cleanliness  4.5
 Location  4.8
 Security & Safety  4.6
 Service & Staff  4.7
 Food / Dining  4.3
 Total  4.4

"Mardi Gras in the French Quarter"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Dianne S. of Delta, BC, Canada
Reviewed:   February 18, 2018  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2018     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
This hostel was a great place to stay. My friend and I arrived at 2:30 in the morning, and the woman working the front desk was still awake and alert! She got us sheets and towels, and let us into the room. Considering this hostel is in the French Quarter, it's a really inexpensive hostel - especially during Mardi Gras. We loved that we could go out and easily come back to change (due to drastic weather changes), use the wifi (for maps and other things), and rest before heading back out! All the staff are amazing, and so were the other guests - super important when you're sharing a room and a bathroom with 9 other people.

"Friendly, best location"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Eskedar S. of Ethiopia, Ethiopia
Reviewed:   February 9, 2018  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2018     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Excellent option if you don't want to spend a lot on a hotel. The location is right on the French quarter where there are so many bars and restaurants. The breakfast waffles are great. The staffs are very friendly and helpful. On my first day Conor took us to bar crawl and he made sure everyone is having good time. One thing to complain about is the water pressure in the showers.

"Comfy private room, good value, great location"

User Rating:  4.6
Reviewer:   Gideon R. of Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   January 27, 2018  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2018     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Was pleasantly surprised by the room, very roomy (a second small bed was also in it, as well as the big one, still spacious). Roomy bathroom with stylish freestanding tub. Fridge in room. Better than most motels, although accessible only to the able bodied. Only downside was that we could not see a way to turn the heating (January 2018) down. Maybe should have asked. Staff helpful. Bikes parked in reasonably safe place, although accessible to other guests...all we met were lovely.

"You get what you pay for"

User Rating:  2.8
Reviewer:   Jenn L. of Durham, NC, United States
Reviewed:   January 24, 2018  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2018     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Be warned - our room did not have working heat or television. It was 50 degrees the entire time. Furthermore as soon as we used an outlet the fuse blew and we did not have power for the entirety of the stay.

"Nice hostel"

User Rating:  4.0
Reviewer:   Tadeu C. of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Reviewed:   January 18, 2018  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2017     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Cool place with low prices and very close to the French Quarter area. All workers are nice and never disturb you :)

"AMAZING!"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Rikki W. of St. Peters, MO, United States
Reviewed:   January 11, 2018  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2018     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I met a friend at IHSP for a five day adventure in New Orleans. This hostel was everything we could have wanted. We were steps away from everything magical that was happening in the French Quarter, and the staff all had great suggestions for things happening around town. We saved money by buying groceries a couple blocks away and cooking lunch and dinner (after a free breakfast!) in the kitchen. The rooms were comfortable and the common area was great. It was sometimes noisy, but no more than I expected for a hostel in New Orleans, I slept beautifully 4/5 nights. This hostel is perfect! I felt safe the whole time, but especially when Suzanne was on staff.

"AWESOME HOSTEL IN PERFECT LOCATION 11/10"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Jack H. of Seattle, WA, United States
Reviewed:   January 11, 2018  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2018     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I can't say enough good things about this experience. I've stayed at a lot of hostels and this was top notch! The location is PERFECT: close to Bourbon street, close to Frenchmen street, safe, lots of good food, etc. All of the staff were incredibly personable and helpful.

A few shout outs:

Suzanne absolutely made my experience. She was incredibly knowledgable about the city, friendly, and hospitable. She made everyone feel right at home and was willing to accommodate people's unexpected circumstances. She is the ideal hostel worker and had so much great advice and stories to share!

Nicole was great too and and kept the late night crew entertained and safe.

Nadia helped me when I had locker issues.

Thanks so much to everyone at the French Quarter House!!!

"STAY AT THIS HOSTEL - IT'S AMAZING"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Jack H. of Seattle, United States
Reviewed:   January 11, 2018  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2018     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I can't say enough good things about this experience. I've stayed at a lot of hostels and this was top notch! The location is PERFECT: close to Bourbon street, close to Frenchmen street, safe, lots of good food, etc. All of the staff were incredibly personable and helpful.

A few shout outs:

Suzanne absolutely made my experience. She was incredibly knowledgable about the city, friendly, and hospitable. She made everyone feel right at home and was willing to accommodate people's unexpected circumstances. She is the ideal hostel worker and had so much great advice and stories to share!

Nicole was great too and and kept the late night crew entertained and safe.

Nadia helped me when I had locker issues.

Thanks so much to everyone at the French Quarter House!!!

"Great"

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   Ayla J. of Milwaukee, United States
Reviewed:   January 11, 2018  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2018     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Loved the ihsp house. Would definitely stay here again.

"Great location!"

User Rating:  3.2
Reviewer:   Kate R. of Washington, DC, United States
Reviewed:   January 4, 2018  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2017     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
This hostel is in a great location, although I think there are other hostels in the French Quarter, or really close to it (their website says they are the only one). Everyone was so friendly! Bathroom access was a little difficult at times but otherwise I really enjoyed my stay!


1 - 10 of 216 reviews  Next 10 results




BedBreakfastTraveler Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Bed & Breakfast Reviews  |   Write a Bed & Breakfast Review  |   Suggest Bed & Breakfasts  |   Search Bed & Breakfasts  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Bed & Breakfast  |   Link to Us