Bed Breakfast Traveler
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  3.3
 Rooms  3.4
 Cleanliness  3.7
 Location  3.6
 Security & Safety  3.8
 Service & Staff  3.7
 Food / Dining  2.9
 Total  3.5

"not going back"

User Rating:  3.2
Reviewer:   Yeraldy M. of houston TX, United States
Reviewed:   November 12, 2018  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2018     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The hotel was really nice with a beautiful garden. rooms were pleasant to stay in, hot water was nice. The problem I had was that when I made my reservation I clearly put that it was 2 adults, I got the results for the rooms available, picked the cheapest one as we were only sleeping there and didnt care for much more. I selected the room, put a $50 deposit, printed and reviewed all the reservation information and was very happy with where we were staying. I picked this place based on price and the pictures and nice reviews. When I arrived, they argued that I owed $15 U.S. dollars more per night because of the 2nd adult. They took advantage of the fact that I had made my reservation months in advanced, didn't have many options anymore, and they had already charged my deposit which they would not refund. I had the printed reservation where I showed them I had put 2 people and was never informed I'd be charged extra for the second person I had listed on the reservation. They did not care, nor were they able to show me where it said I'd owe more money upon showing up for my stay. after arguing for about an hour they "helped" by only charging me an additional $10/night. The place was nice but we did not have a pleasant stay due to the unpleasant welcoming. We were planning to enjoy the garden and have breakfast there every morning but after they took advantage of us for being from out of the country I no longer cared to give them any more of my business.

Also, our first morning we were woken up by loud employees laughing and being loud outside our room. They were joking and yelling at each other right outside our door and walking back and forth very loudly.

This place is not very far from the park and church (center of the town) but you will have to walk a few block at night if you need a convenience store or drinks, etc.

"San Jorge Hotel Antigua"

User Rating:  3.8
Reviewer:   Jocelyn C. of California, United States
Reviewed:   April 26, 2018  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2018     Type:   Senior
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Lovely inexpensive hotel.
Paid for my first night online with a credit card.
Had to pay the remainder when I got there in dollars or Guatemala Qs.
Did not realize that.
Later my card didn’t work in the ATMs so it got a bit stressful.

"Could do better"

User Rating:  2.1
Reviewer:   Talia B. of Brooklyn, NY, United States
Reviewed:   April 8, 2018  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2018     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We just returned from our trip to Antingua. the hotel was fine: clean, with a pretty garden and pleasant staff. the bathrooms are a bit run down but clean
But on a number of occassions we felt they were unfair in their charges.
The instantworldbooking cost we were supposed to pay for the room was $650 but with the exchange rate they used and a credit card fee we landed up paying 705.
We decided against using their service to get a ride to the airport because it landed up (again due to some odd exchange rate voodoo) being significantly more than we had to pay elsewhere.
Even getting laundry done turned into a discussion because our moderate size bag was going to be charged as a large bag and a half.
It all left us with an unpleasant feeling that we were being taken advantage of.

"Very good for the money"

User Rating:  3.8
Reviewer:   J.A. S. of Dallas, United States
Reviewed:   November 20, 2017  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2017     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Clean , comfortable and a very good value . I have stayed in this hotel many times. Every time I visit there are improvements .

"Fraudulent Procedure"

User Rating:  1.0
Reviewer:   Guadalupe Concepcion M. of Ensenada, Baja California, Mexico
Reviewed:   April 15, 2017  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2017     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
After having paid in advance a third of the total sum for a 5 night stay and after having decided not to stay because the attention received at the hotel was inadequate, we were not only forced to find another accommodation but my credit card was charged without my approval for the full length of the stay. I complained at the Guatemaltecan national institute for tourism (INGUAT) and placed a formal complaint with the Police in Antigua, as well as advising my bank about this fraudulent procedure carried out by the hotel. I will definitely post this information in my social networks.

"Friendly, Clean, and Comfortable"

User Rating:  4.3
Reviewer:   Jack J. of Bainbridge Island, United States
Reviewed:   March 8, 2017  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2017     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I spent two nights here in February. The rooms are nice and the staff was very helpful. It also has a very pleasant garden space and a convenient location.

"Great place, very quiet for Guatemala"

User Rating:  3.4
Reviewer:   Darrius P. of TX, United States
Reviewed:   February 21, 2017  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2017     Type:   Senior
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Stayed with my daughter who is in the Peace Corps there. Love the hotel. Clean, quiet off the beaten path street, would stay here again

"Welcoming even in the middle of the night..."

User Rating:  3.3
Reviewer:   CATHERINE T. of Gatineau, Canada
Reviewed:   February 12, 2017  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2017     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
It has a very nice garden, tea and coffee at all time!!!
There is a lot of change in the personal so when you arrive,you,re not so sure if the message you left for the day after has been understood, but at the end, it all works out!!!
It was a comfortable stay!

"St Jorge"

User Rating:  4.2
Reviewer:   Simon W. of london UK, England
Reviewed:   February 6, 2017  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2017     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Great place to stay. Great staff and friendly parot!

"Bonito lugar"

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   Ale G. of San jode, Costa Rica
Reviewed:   November 27, 2016  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2016     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Hotel lindo acogedor cerca del centro de Angigia dan te y café gratis sus jardines muy bien cuidados , habitaciones limpias . Lo recomiendo y volvería , justo precio x calidad


1 - 10 of 12 reviews  Next 2 results




BedBreakfastTraveler Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Bed & Breakfast Reviews  |   Write a Bed & Breakfast Review  |   Suggest Bed & Breakfasts  |   Search Bed & Breakfasts  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Bed & Breakfast  |   Link to Us