Bed Breakfast Traveler
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  3.4
 Rooms  3.3
 Cleanliness  3.8
 Location  3.6
 Security & Safety  3.7
 Service & Staff  3.4
 Food / Dining  3.5
 Total  3.4

"Correcto pero. .."

User Rating:  3.7
Reviewer:   Urko L. of Bilbao, Spain
Reviewed:   May 9, 2016  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   May 2016     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
El hotel cuenta con a/c y tv. La piscina es más bien un pequeño pozo.
El personal muy muy atento. La ubicación es muy tranquila y con buenas vistas del volcán, pero esta lejos de la fortuna y hay que hacer bastantes kilómetros por carretera de grava con baches

"Escapade à El Castillo"

User Rating:  3.6
Reviewer:   Marie-Pierre B. of EVREUX, France
Reviewed:   February 21, 2016  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2016     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Difficile d'accès par piste et non route goudronnée, El Castillo est certainement beaucoup plus calme et moins touristique que La Fortuna.
L'hébergement était tout à fait correct (douche un peu froide cependant).
Le personnel de l'accueil est vraiment serviable et nous a beaucoup aidé pour récupérer nos bagages restés à Mexico.
Très bon restaurant aussi et merveilleux ceviche.
Dommage qu'il ait plu des cordes pendant 2 jours et que nous n'ayant pu voir le volcan Arenal.

"Go someplace else..."

User Rating:  2.5
Reviewer:   Fernando C. of San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewed:   December 26, 2015  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2015     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Can't recommend it. Upon arrival they wanted $30 over the price agreed on InstantWorldBooking. After much arguing they settled down to $10 over the price given in the confirmation email. Place is full of cheap signs warning you about fees for towel cleaning. The bathroom looks like a cheap motel with industrial rolls of toilet paper and airport-like soap dispensers (ours didn't even work). Staff wasn't that great either... Go somewhere else. This place is worth $50 tops.

"Vacances"

User Rating:  3.8
Reviewer:   Meurisse M. of St Avertin, France
Reviewed:   April 14, 2015  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2015     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Bon sejour

"hier wilden wij direct weer weg.."

User Rating:  1.5
Reviewer:   Charon .. of ., Netherlands
Reviewed:   August 24, 2014  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2014     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
In the middle of nowhere, het dak van onze kamer lekte! En de kamer was echt vies!

"Nice place"

User Rating:  4.0
Reviewer:   Pierre D. of Blagnac, France
Reviewed:   July 29, 2014  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2014     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Hotel very well located in front of the Arenal Volcano.
Nice bungalow with unfortunately a small bathroom

"one night in your hotel"

User Rating:  4.1
Reviewer:   Hélène R. of Le Beausset, France
Reviewed:   July 21, 2014  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2014     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
we arrived at your hotel after having spent a short night at Tortuguero and a long trip with our 4x4. The end of the trip was tiring because of the long enough track. The hotel is a little bit far from Arenal, so we didn't have enough courage to go back to there in the evening.That was a shame.
We enjoyed a lot our meal at your hotel. It was the best meal we had in Costa Rica. The place of the hotel is calm and very pretty. We appreciated it. The room was very nice as well. The only problem for me is the distance from town.

"Hotel Castillo del Arenal, Costa Rica"

User Rating:  3.1
Reviewer:   Piero F. of Veyrier, Switzerland
Reviewed:   April 29, 2014  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2014     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
we stayed 4 nights in this hotel. The view over the volcano was outstanding. The road to get to the hotel was unpaved and very bumpy. It's best to have a 4 wheel drive as the climb is quite steep. The hotel is away from town (10 km of unpaved road) so we ate in the restaurant there. The food quality was not constant, and expensive. It's more convenient to eat at the little "soda" down the road (1 km away). The hotel was well situated but need a better maintainence (leaking shower, soap dipenser did not work).

"Excellent location for the activities to do in Arenal but rough roads"

User Rating:  4.5
Reviewer:   Nicole B. of toronto, Canada
Reviewed:   April 25, 2014  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2014     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Very nice view of the volcano but be prepared for the road. About an hour of dirt road with lots of holes. The hotel is nice and the staff very friendly

"Experiencia"

User Rating:  2.5
Reviewer:   ALVARO L. of Ciudad de México, Mexico
Reviewed:   April 22, 2014  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2014     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Mi experiencia en este hotel fue desagradable, si bien el entorno (paisaje) es, sin duda, muy bonito. Llegamos tras muchas dificultades, pues son muchos kilómetros de terracería en mal estado y además la señalización no es buena (incluso me pasé por varios Km y tuve que regresar). Al llegar el recepcionista me reclamó por lo tarde que llegaba, pese a que en mi reserva yo dije que venía de otro viaje y que no sabía a la hora que podría llegar; nos dijo que podíamos cenar, que fuéramos a dejar nuestras maletas a la habitación y regresáramos al restaurante; cuando regresamos al restaurante el mesero se comportó grosero y descortés con nosotros (desde luego se molestó por haber ido al restaurante pocos minutos antes de que lo fueran a cerrar pero esa no fue nuestra culpa, el recepcionista nos dijo que podríamos ir a cenar).

Al día siguiente, en el desayuno, de igual manera, el trato fue descortés, los propios meseros están muy atareados y tienen un trato muy diferenciado entre los diferentes clientes, de hecho atendieron primero a unos clientes que llegaron después. El día que dejamos el hotel, el recepcionista no estaba y de hecho no pudimos hacer el check out, lo cual me preocupó, pues no sé si me vayan a cargar más de lo debido o no.

En general se observa desorganización entre el staff del hotel y considero que les falta preparación para tratar a los turistas en forma amable.


1 - 10 of 20 reviews  Next 10 results




BedBreakfastTraveler Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Bed & Breakfast Reviews  |   Write a Bed & Breakfast Review  |   Suggest Bed & Breakfasts  |   Search Bed & Breakfasts  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Bed & Breakfast  |   Link to Us