Bed Breakfast Traveler
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.2
 Rooms  4.2
 Cleanliness  4.4
 Location  4.1
 Security & Safety  4.4
 Service & Staff  4.6
 Food / Dining  4.5
 Total  4.3

"Fleetwood Inn"

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   Michelle D. of New Market, United States
Reviewed:   October 18, 2013  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2013     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
This was my second experience at a B&B. I stayed at one in St. Albans, Vermont last year and had such a great experience that I decided I had to do B&Bs from now on. The Fleetwood House is a nice place. I think part of the charm of a B&B is the people that you meet. That's what was lacking with the experience. I can't say anything bad about the accommodations. Breakfast was good.

"Great place to stay! Great price!"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Sara M. of Boston, United States
Reviewed:   August 19, 2013  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   August 2013     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
This place was a great find for my husband and I. We had to visit Portland for a wedding and wanted to keep our costs low. After a search online I found this fabulous B&B

The owners are extremely nice and the place was well kept and very clean. We had a beautiful bedroom all to ourselves!The breakfast the next day was delicious too.

Just what we needed for a night in Portland. We definitely recommend this to anyone

"1-night only"

User Rating:  2.8
Reviewer:   Zinnia S. of Los Angeles, CA, United States
Reviewed:   June 23, 2013  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   June 2013     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
By the time I looked into making reservations for a quick trip to Maine (about a month ahead of time), we couldn't get the first night (a Saturday night) at our final destination so we decided to spend a night in Portland on the way up. Most of the other hotels and B&Bs in downtown Portland were either booked up, a little bit too pricey, or required at least a 2-night minimum stay so I decided to take a chance on Fleetwood House.

THE GOOD: Linda is very, very nice & clearly wants you to enjoy your visit. We love cats so we were happy to spot Mucky in the living room during our brief stay. I had booked the Bay Room specifically so we could have our own bathroom - not having to share a bathroom is always a plus! Bed was clean & comfy. WiFi worked like a charm. Easy street parking & easy 15-minute drive to downtown Portland.

THE NOT SO GOOD: The room was just a little bit too warm to sleep comfortably, even with the windows open the entire time - and with the windows open, you can hear the street noise. Cleanliness & amenities were not quite up to par for what I would expect for $165/night+tax (laundered but stained towels, slightly dingy-looking shower floor, thin toilet paper, old toothpaste residue on the toothbrush holder). Breakfast was good but not great - fruit & yogurt w/granola, coffee, tea, orange juice plus french toast. The fruit could have been a little more fresh & the french toast actually would have been really great because she served it to us fresh & hot EXCEPT it was served with fake syrup. It's Maine! There should be a warning if it's not real maple syrup on the table anywhere in New England!! I may be from California but my husband is from Vermont and we know what real maple syrup tastes like.

Overall, it was fine for a 1-night stay and you might really love it if you're into the more "homey" B&B environment but if you are looking for something more along the lines of a comfortable & classy 4 or 5-diamond experience then it would be wise to pay a little more & stay somewhere else.

"Fleetwood Bed and Breakfast"

User Rating:  4.4
Reviewer:   Susan J. of North Brookfield, MA, United States
Reviewed:   October 7, 2012  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2012     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Very warm and hospitable. Room is small but adequate and very comfortable bed. Shared bathroom but worked out fine. Nice breakfast and very good coffee! Only 5-10 minutes from the Old Port.

"wonderful B&B"

User Rating:  4.7
Reviewer:   Jia C. of ardsley, United States
Reviewed:   September 9, 2012  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   August 2012     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I statyed one night with my two kids at Fleetwood HOuse on our way to Acadia. We had a wonderful time. The house has a homey feeling and we were very comfortable. The hosts are very friendly and helpful, the breakfast was delicious. I highly recommend this place.

"Comfortable Stay"

User Rating:  3.3
Reviewer:   Kari H. of Mansfield, TX, United States
Reviewed:   September 2, 2012  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   August 2012     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Owners of B&B were very friendly and nice. Room we were in did not have it's own bathroom (which I didn't realize when booking). That would not have been a problem however, the shared bathroom door did not lock! Good location, room was comfortable.

"Better than a five star"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Julienh C. of Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed:   June 1, 2012  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   May 2012     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
A few days ago, as I was on holidays in New-York, I thought it'd be great to take the train to Portland (Maine) and drive along the coast. With my sister (we're both French, she lives in Tours -Loire Valley- and I live in Dublin -Ireland-)we booked a room at the Fleetwood House through.... We ha d barely opened the door around 6pm that we were greeted very warmly by the owner (husband) of the lovely little house two minute drive from the harbour of Portland. The living room was so welcoming and the room would under rate a five star hotel just by having a look at it. The bed? So somfy! We slept very well. In the morning, the owner (wife) had made breakfast. The dining area made us believing we were at home. The orange juice in wine glasses woke us up gently and the coffee was tasty. As we're cat lovers, we really enjoyed the company of their four leg friends! We so enjoyed everything that we had decided to reserve the room for a second unplanned night in Portland. And the following day, the superb home-made french toast with fresh fruits had been replaced by a delicious cooked to perfection omelette. We felt quite sad when we left. I must certainely sound like I'm over reacting and exagerating but please, do believe me when I say that I'm not. You're planning a couple of days in Maine, stay at the Fleetwooh House! You'll love it!! collapse

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Quaint little place"

User Rating:  3.0
Reviewer:   Kathy C. of Gilmanton, United States
Reviewed:   September 18, 2011  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2011     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We stayed at the Fleetwood because all the other places in Portland were booked. Was an old victorian type place. Very quaint. The owner was very nice. Our room was cozy but the bed squeaked terribly with every move. The furniture was a little dusty but not too bad. The door to our room kept sticking and we had a hard time opening it going in and out. The bathroom was down the hallway and a couple times we had to wait to use it because it was occupied. Breakfast the next morning was good other than the jar of jelly that had mold in it. Being a cat person, I didn't mind the residence cats at all. The location is on a side street off one of the main streets. It was fairly quiet.

"Comfortable"

User Rating:  3.6
Reviewer:   S R. of Boston, MA, United States
Reviewed:   July 27, 2011  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2011     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We had a good stay at this B&B. Our room was a little small but clean and well furnished and had a private bathroom. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful.

Some things to be aware of: it's several miles to downtown Portland (car needed), and the living spaces are shared with the owners and pets - all of whom are very nice!

"Cozy room in old New England house"

User Rating:  4.4
Reviewer:   Sasha T. of Arroyo Grande, CA, United States
Reviewed:   November 30, 2010  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2010     Type:   Honeymoon/Romance
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We did not realize the bathroom was not en suite (in the room), but it was no problem, as the bathroom was just down the hall and there was no one else that we saw sharing it with us. The owners of the house are a delightfully friendly New England couple and it was a pleasure chatting with them over breakfast. The house is very comfortable and it feels like you are staying in a relative's home. It was a lovely way to start our trip, and we had no complaints. The breakfast was tasty and the owners try very hard to make you at ease and satisfy all your needs. I would stay there again if traveling in Portland.


Previous 10 results  11 - 20 of 25 reviews  Next 5 results




BedBreakfastTraveler Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Bed & Breakfast Reviews  |   Write a Bed & Breakfast Review  |   Suggest Bed & Breakfasts  |   Search Bed & Breakfasts  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Bed & Breakfast  |   Link to Us