Bed Breakfast Traveler
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.5
 Rooms  4.5
 Cleanliness  4.5
 Location  4.5
 Security & Safety  4.9
 Service & Staff  4.8
 Food / Dining  4.5
 Total  4.6

"Best hotel on the lake!"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Thomas M. of Atherton, United States
Reviewed:   January 9, 2018  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2018     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
San Juan is a beautiful and quiet town with many artists and textiles. Uxlabil is the best hotel in San Juan. They have their own organic farm on their property where they grow most of their food, and the food is excellent, fresh and healthy. They also have a Mayan sauna and a fire pit for Mayan fire ceremonies, and you can borrow a canoe or kayak and take a journey on the lake. The staff are very friendly and you have a chance to make new friends there.

"Wonderful setting, great bird watching with Juan"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Lynn M. of Portland, United States
Reviewed:   March 2, 2017  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2017     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
This is a wonderful location with amazing views of Lake Atitlan. We loved the short walk to the hotel from where the tuk tuk dropped us off through the fields of vegetables and corn with the hard working Guatemalans saying Buenos Dias, with a smile. Great breakfasts, friendly staff, comfortable rooms. We loved our ave watching hike with Juan!
We would stay there again!

"It is all about the view"

User Rating:  3.8
Reviewer:   Anne P. of Nelson, Canada
Reviewed:   January 20, 2017  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2017     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We have now stayed with at the Uxlabil San Juan twice, it is all about the view from the deck. Watching the morning come alive is what brought us back, it is magical. The staff are lovely, the rooms adequate and the location works as a great base to explore from.

"Lovely spot, muy agradable..."

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   Randy R. of Seattle, WA, United States
Reviewed:   January 17, 2017  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2016     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
This is the second time I have stayed at Eco Hotel Uxlabil, I was also there in May 2016 - and that's why I wanted to come back with my wife. The locale is excellent, just a short walk from San Juan La Laguna, a non-touristy, culturally interesting village on the shore of Lago Atitlán. Besides its excellent location with a wonderful view of the lake, the staff is extremely attentive and very helpful. Lucas, Juan, Angelina and Rosa are all very friendly and ready to attend to anything you need. (I’m not sure about their level of English as we spoke in Spanish all the time.) The rooms are clean, nicely decorated, and comfortable - I like the top floor rooms for the airy views, especially 4D at the end - it has windows on two sides. We did not eat lunch or dinner at the restaurant - when I was here in May I had dinner and it was adequate but unremarkable, and there are plenty of good restaurants in town. The breakfasts that come with the room, however, are great. Juan Carlos, who works at El Comal in town, comes in to help the other cooks with breakfasts; his oatmeal is delicious, and they offer the choice of “tipico” (with beans and plantains), eggs and toast with fruit, or pancakes and fruit. You can sit out on the open air patio and enjoy the quiet lake while having breakfast. All in all a great place to stay at the gorgeous Lago Atitlán, I can’t recommend it enough. Thanks to everyone there - we’ll be back!

"Maravilloso"

User Rating:  4.5
Reviewer:   Mario H. of guatemala, Guatemala
Reviewed:   January 6, 2017  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2017     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Increible lugar, lleno de ecologia y la belleza del lago de atitlan, el servicio muy bueno

"2nd time still in love"

User Rating:  4.7
Reviewer:   Cynthia M. of Chicago, Illinlis, United States
Reviewed:   December 10, 2016  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2016     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I first stayed at this hotel in 2009. I came back this time with my entire family - young and old - and still LOVED it. The food is great and the people so friendly! NOTHING, can beat the morning view off the balconies. I cannot wait to return. I tell everyone that wants to go to Atitlan to go here !!

"Uxlabil: a hidden paradise"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Mattia L. of Clonakilty, Ireland
Reviewed:   November 22, 2016  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2016     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
A great place: quiet, with wonderful views, helpful and kind staff, very good rooms, plenty of nice touches, good food, kayaks, private dock, sauna...
We can't possibly think of a better place to enjoy Lake Atitlan!

"días tranquilas en San Juan La Laguna"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Brigitte F. of Nürnberg, Germany
Reviewed:   November 16, 2016  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2016     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Es un hotel muy lindo fuera de San Juan, en un lugar hermoso. Tenía una habitación grande con bano privado - todo muy limpio y bien cuidado. Vista hermosa al lago. La gente que trabaja en el hotel está muy ocupada de sus clientes, muy amable.
Para llegar lo mejor es tomar un tuktuk en el atracadero.
El único problema: Pagar con Mastercard no funcionó.

"Beautiful Place and Friendly People"

User Rating:  4.1
Reviewer:   Regan D. of New York, United States
Reviewed:   April 6, 2016  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2016     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Our trip to the Eco Hotel Uxlabil Atitan was great. I received and email a few days prior to arriving which outlined how to get to the hotel. This was so helpful seeing that it is not the easiest place to access. The only part of the stay which was a bit off putting was when we arrived. We arrived after dark and a tuk tuk took us from the main ferry stop in San Juan to the hotel. He pointed to a large dark building standing off in the distance, my boyfriend and I were convinced that it was an abandoned house. As we walked along the path there were absolutely not light to guide us and the place seemed completely empty. Finally someone came out and turned on some lights and checked us in. Other than that the people were so so nice, the food was amazing and the view was incredible. It was adventure but well worth it!

"Sweet Spot"

User Rating:  4.3
Reviewer:   Jane P. of New York, United States
Reviewed:   November 18, 2015  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2015     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I loved our stay at Uxlabil Atitlan.
You can see the hotel from the dock in San Juan...but it's quite a long walk. We took a tuk-tuk. The approach is along lake thru corn fields and gardens. The garden of hotel is beautifully, artfully tended. The rooms are super simple but comfy(our room had two singles and a double. Hot water in shower, porch with hammocks etc. ok breakfast served at 8:00.
My travel mate complained of damp/mildew in the beds...but I thought for the price it was lovely and tidy.


1 - 10 of 11 reviews  Next 1 result




BedBreakfastTraveler Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Bed & Breakfast Reviews  |   Write a Bed & Breakfast Review  |   Suggest Bed & Breakfasts  |   Search Bed & Breakfasts  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Bed & Breakfast  |   Link to Us