Bed Breakfast Traveler
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.0
 Rooms  4.1
 Cleanliness  4.1
 Location  4.4
 Security & Safety  4.3
 Service & Staff  4.1
 Food / Dining  3.8
 Total  4.2

""Great hotel in Hanoi Old Quater""

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   Chen H. of Kingston, Canada
Reviewed:   May 27, 2008  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   May 2008     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We stayed at the Hanoi Lucky Hotel for 4 nights in May 2008. We chose the hotel because of the great reviews on this site and very reasonable rates (25 US/night). The decor was tasteful and the hotel had all the usual amenities (eg internet access, cable tv, a/c, laundry service) plus some extras you might not find elsewhere (eg bathroom scales). Location was great. Breakfasts were simple but nice and healthy. But what really makes the hotel so good is the "can do" attitude of all of it's staff and their genuine friendliness and helpfullness. All of the staff spoke very good English, nothing was a problem for them, and they went out of their way to be of service (much better than some 3 star hotels we have stayed at in Vietnam). We highly recommend this hotel, it lived up to our high expectations and it was a pleasure to stay there.

""Great hotel on my trip in Asia ""

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   Stephanie E. of Sydney/NSW, Australia
Reviewed:   May 20, 2008  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   May 2008     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I've never felt so welcome in my life! .. and i've travelled to a few places in my lifetime. A family effort in this hostel and you can't help but feel grateful for all their assistance. Internet is free, you can book tours and a complimentary breakfast is available each day. Location is amazing! Value for money ... highly recommend. If you want to meet people, maybe not the best place .. but is possible!! :)

User Rating:  1.9
Reviewer:   Tanya H. of Sydney/NSW, Australia
Reviewed:   April 30, 2008  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   March 2008     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining

"Staff went above and beyond!!"

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   Johson M. of New York, United States
Reviewed:   April 28, 2008  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   April 2008     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Me, my partner and 2 other friends stayed at the Asia Queen Hotel for 4 nights in mid-April and I agree with many of the reviews that sing the praises of this hotel and the staff. Mrs Moon and her staff were excellent. The hotel was in a great location and the rooms were very nice. We paid $30 per night, which included breakfast (the Pho is great but get there eariy - before 8:30 - as they run out). I corresponded several times with Mrs Moon on our reservations for rooms, airport pickup, trips to Tam Coc and Halong Bay and train tickets to Da Nang and she responded promptly and everything was exactly as we requested when we arrived in Hanoi. Additionally, we were able to leave most of our luggage at the hotel while we went on a two-day cruise on Halong Bay, even though we were not going to stay there when we returned (we left that same evening for Da Nang). However, the staff went above and beyond during a little snafu that happened when the 4 of us went to the train station on the evening of 21 March. We went in two taxis and two of us ended up at the train station and the other two ended up at another terminal. When our two friends did not show up and the train was going to leave in 1/2 hour, we called the hotel to see if they could contact the cab company to see what happened. The young man said he would call and find out if the cab dropped our friends at the train station. He apparently found out that they had, but at the other terminal, so he jumped on his motor bike, drove to the other terminal, collected our friends and the luggage (oh, all the luggage was in their cab) and brought them to the other terminal where we were waiting. All this just in time for us to catch the train. If he hadn't drove to the station, we would never have found each other. In all the rushing around, we failed to get his name, though he was the night clerk at the hotel all during our stay. That is going above and beyond, in my opinion.

"Bad service"

User Rating:  2.0
Reviewer:   Johnson S. of London, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   April 17, 2008  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2008     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The staff shows a complete and utter lack of service skills, and they don't seem to know how many beds they have rented in the rooms. The breakfast ist horrible.

"Perfect Location and Services"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   John D. of New York, United States
Reviewed:   February 28, 2008  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Bedbreakfasttraveler.com)
Traveled:   February 2008     Type:   Large Group
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Location:

As central as it gets, one minute walk through a small alley and you will be at the Hoan Kim Lake. Even though the mentioning of alley can be off putting for some. It should not be. Central Hanoi, especially the old quarter and Hoan Kim Lake area, can be very noisy. Too many motobikes and cars! Drivers honk excessively and for no apparent reason. A bit more interior location can be a welcoming thing.

The room:

The hotel is relatively new so it is in very good condition. Bed and sheets are all in great condition and clean. There are TV, a small fridge, desk, and chairs. Bathroom is adequate in size. Hot water is included in the price but heater is not. One will need a heater especially in the winter time. It was freezing cold when I was there. Therefore, I suspect that you will have to pay for the A/C separately as well. I find this a bit distasteful as the place is in the (low) midrange category, not a dorm.

A word regarding the style of the furniture in the room, they try to look, hmm, antique-old Vietnamese style. It is kitsch at best. It is like a Huyndai trying to pass for a Masserati. Nothing wrong with a Huyndai but let it be so. Some rooms do not have window as I learned from another guest who had stayed there. Therefore, it is prudent to ask whether or not your room will have a window.

Services:

Definitely is a very strong selling point of this place. The front desk will help you all they can. They will treat you more like family member. Breakfast is included in the rate, which consisted of barguette, egg, or omellete. I do not drink coffee but noticed that they do make coffee for guests at any hour of day free of charge (I overheard this). There is also free internet for guests. Three PCs total.

Recommendation:
Absolutely!

"Thumbs up for the Asia Queen"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Peter M. of London, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   February 26, 2008  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   February 2008     Type:   Large Group
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We stayed here for a couple of days. The rooms were very clean, the food good, location was excellent but the best part of the hotel is the staff. They go out of their way to help you and they really make the stay alot more pleasant. After all it is the little things like that that matter! We also went on a couple of tours that the Asia Queen organised for us. Talking to other people that went on similar tours we realised that we were really lucky. The tours were great and we had a fab time while others weren't so lucky

""Great hotel""

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Lee J. of Selangor, Malaysia
Reviewed:   February 17, 2008  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   January 2008     Type:   Large Group
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The staff at Asia Queen hotel were very reliable and exceptionally helpfull as well. They were willing to allow my son use their working computor on the imformation counter, even thought, they were working. Beside that, we use Asia Queen hotel to book our Sapa tour and realized that the tour they organized to be very reputable, accompanied me to raiway station to make sure everything before I leave, in the Sapa with good accommodation and plenty of food. Generally speaking the everything on itinerary was delivered pefectly. Highly recommend to my friends.

"dump"

User Rating:  2.9
Reviewer:   Garnish D. of Mendocino, United States
Reviewed:   February 8, 2008  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2008     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Great location but kind of a dump. Even though we had reserved the promised two bed room with bath with a large window and balcony, we were led to a windowless tiny room with one bed. After some discussion they took us to the only room that would suit...on the 6th floor, no elevator. By this time we were exhausted, it was early morning we had just flown in from California and in no mood to start looking for another hotel so we took it. The room at the top would be great if one was young, and it was summer. It had no heat, windows all around with curtains over them, no view to speak of. Need I say more?:

"IF YOU LIKE A BATTLE FOR THINGS THIS IS THE HOTEL FOR YOU!"

User Rating:  3.8
Reviewer:   Lauren A. of manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   January 16, 2008  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Bedbreakfastreservations.com)
Traveled:   January 2008     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
On arrival asked for money for our free airport transfer and had to provide proof, luckily i had an email saying the word 'free' on it. then they tried to charge me for more money then set by this website. after that they moved us nextdoor to a lesser grade hotel, which was nothing like i organised to stay in. The next day they still did not move us back so, had to pretty much start argument but eventually got the room we wanted and very happy with it just as advertised. I felt like any serviced i required from them they were always trying to scram max price out of me. Breakfast is pretty standard for Vietnam: bread roll, jam and omlette. Location in Old Quarter was good. Overall the hassle to get the room we desired was too much drama for me to ever return!


1 - 10 of 29 reviews  Next 10 results




BedBreakfastTraveler Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Bed & Breakfast Reviews  |   Write a Bed & Breakfast Review  |   Suggest Bed & Breakfasts  |   Search Bed & Breakfasts  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Bed & Breakfast  |   Link to Us